Recent Bad Reviews


Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (566 reviews)



Not really a deal at all

(2 / 5)

  I used Infinite Energy until they were bought out. My rate with IE was $0.549 and my rate with Xoom Energy was $0.399. Yet my monthly bills arrived $20-40 more expensive than the corresponding month from IE despite having a lower rate. There must have been some added fees in there. I'm not sure, because the bill is very difficult to understand and the website is awful. I do not recommend Xoom.

DMcW
May 5th, 2022

XOOM Energy Logo

XOOM Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service lacking

(2 / 5)

  Moved out of the area and received an email saying no termination fee would be assessed... There was and it took multiple calls in which over half the time the foreign call center reps just hung up. This went on for almost 3 months ended up disputing thru my credit card. Then they tried to send it to a 3rd party collections

Austin
April 20th, 2022

Hi Austin. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our apologies for the bad experience. We would be more than happy to assist to verify is resolved. Please, contact us at 1-866-587-8674.<br /><br /><br />Many Thanks,<br />Lily, Social Media Advisor

Just Energy Responds April 30th, 2022
Just Energy Logo

Just Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nickel and dime you with fees

(2 / 5)

  Overall, I haven't had an issue with Discount Power until one month where things were busy and I overlooked my bill for a couple weeks. Most honest companies will warn you about being disconnected for non-payment when the next month bill comes out. Not so with DP, instead within only a couple weeks of not paying your bill they send you a disconnect notice so they can greedily charge you a $20 disconnect notice fee. Then they add insult to injury by also charging a late fee. I could understand if it was going on to next month and no payment had been made, but a couple weeks... Really?! Disappointed and can't wait to switch to a more honest company.

CLT83
April 6th, 2022

Hi, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at feedback@discountpowertx.com with your account #, REF #1313 and additional information.

Discount Power Responds April 12th, 2022
Discount Power Logo

Discount Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not worth it

(2 / 5)

  I had Ambit for 1 year and the rate was fair for a few months and then starting going up. There is no way to pay half before the due date and then pay the rest with out paying a fee. I paid $289 for February and now for March it's $363.91. And Oncor charges are ridiculous $112. So I am done with Ambit! Cancelled and not going back.

Pam
March 5th, 2022

Ambit Energy Logo

Ambit Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Without power, no care

(2 / 5)

  I am in my house without power its 40 F in my house. Amigo promised my power would be on today. They said if they needed any additional information they would contact me. I called this morning and the lady on the phone said they needed two items from me and I informed her that they never called. She apologized and said it would take 24-48 hours to get power on in my house. I told her that I had opted for priority for an extra fee on my bill so I could have power today. She said if they cant get it on today then I wouldnt have to pay for the priority yet I wouldnt have power. I emailed the documents and called back a few hours later to make sure they were received. The lady on this call promised Id have power in a few hours. Its been 3 hours and when I called back theyre office was closed. They dont open again until Monday and I have work on Monday and need power. Let me stress again that my house is cold and my food is going to go bad. I am so beyond upset.

Jamie
February 26th, 2022

Hi Jaime. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding and frustration caused at the time of the enrollment. A member of our team will be contacting you soon to have this resolved as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

Amigo Energy Responds February 28th, 2022
Amigo Energy Logo

Amigo Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shell game

(2 / 5)

  When I first joined in April 2020 I was told the energy company would buy back my excess generated energy at the kWh rate I was being charged. Several months later I was advised this policy had changed and my energy would be placed in a bank in case I needed it.

Now, this month I received the first bill for electricity useage. This is in spite of the fact that since April 2020. I had produced over 35,000 extra keg than I had used. That is 35,000 kWh that the provider has sold to someone else for a profit.

So I called and I was told the PUC had changed the policy and placed a cap on banking excess energy. So Green Mountain has confiscated my bank and now, not only am I paying for a solar power system but Im once again paying an electric bill. They are giving me a credit for what I produce but it is capped and pays a lower rate.

I have contacted my State Senator and my State Representative. If I did this to someone, I would be charged with Theft/ Fraud or both.

I have contacted another energy company who stated they have not heard anything about this PUC policy and I will be transferring my account to them on Monday.

I AM TIRED OF BEING TREATED LIKE THIS BY GREEN MOUNTAIN. I WAS TRYING TO BE A GOOD CITIZEN AND A RESPONSIBLE USER OF DOLAR POWER AND I HAPED BEEN FISCALLY ASSAULTED.

Charles Russell
February 20th, 2022

Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1740 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 23rd, 2022
Green Mountain Energy Logo

Green Mountain Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No commitment to existing customers or environment

(2 / 5)

  Our first break with GME was when they were offering better rates to new customers, but would only renew loyal customers at higher rate. When we moved to a home with solar, we again tried GME because they offered solar credits. Now they are eliminating that. Seems pretty hypocritical to say they support "green" energy but then refuse to support it. Since the buyback rate is less than the sale rate, it's not as though they can't still make some profit, if they cared to actually help environment. Obviously greed is the motivating factor. Luckily, Reliant and Rhythm offer solar plans for homeowners. Seems true green energy consumers are leaving GME in search for companies with integrity.

CristyW
February 4th, 2022

Cristy, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1732 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 8th, 2022
Green Mountain Energy Logo

Green Mountain Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very disappointed with this company

(2 / 5)

  I had reliant for two years. Everything was okay for the time been. Then suddenly I decided to switch to a different electricity provider and the double my last electric bill. Their excuse is that their system changed my plan to average usage. I did not even know about it. I was like,what the? They told me I need to keep the account monitored. Hello!!!! I had a two year plan!! You were not supposed to change it! Now I have to pay over $400 dollars for the month of December 2021! Are you kidding me?! It's not even Summer!!!this is outrageous!

Sandra
January 11th, 2022

Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2022
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$939 Rug Pull

(2 / 5)

  This company convinced me to try out their average billing plan. 7 months in they decide to sell my account to Reliant and then charged me the entire balance of $939 all at once. They said they sent letters but could not call or email anyone to notify them of this change.

Peter Tran
November 30th, 2021

Good afternoon, Peter. We understand changes are hard to adapt to sometimes, we definitely did not want to affect you with this, that is why we notified our customers by mail and email about the changes that would take effect in November, to avoid any misunderstandings in this regard. Please accept our apologies if we missed the mark on you. Thank you for the feedback. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care

First Choice Power Responds December 1st, 2021
First Choice Power Logo

First Choice Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Suppliers:



Texas Electricity Ratings Resources: