Deposit Reviews


Deposit Issues and Complaints (301 reviews)

Deposits for electricity in Texas can be a hassle and usually range from $100 to $500. Some companies handle them well with lower deposit amounts or lower credit thresholds while others turn you upside down and shake the lunch money out of your pocket. If deposits are causing you issues, you can read deposit related reviews from other customers before you sign up for an energy company.



Mrs.

(5 / 5)

  Using your services I got service with no deposit. The transition was fairly easy. Thank you for helping me compare the plans available

Alejandra C
April 18th, 2022

Hi Alejandra C. We are glad to hear that you are happy with our enrollment process. Thank you for this awesome rating. Have a great day!


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor

Amigo Energy Responds April 20th, 2022
Amigo Energy Logo

Amigo Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NO MORE PREPAID

(5 / 5)

  I would like to thank Texas Electricity Ratings.com for helping me with getting a monthly electric bill with no deposit down.. They truly made switching from my prepaid. Electric company effortless, Thanks , Victor V.

SAVE $
August 1st, 2021

Hello Victor. Thank you for this great review! It is awesome to know you have found the best plan for you. If there's anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Have a wonderful day! - Sophie / Digital Care

First Choice Power Responds August 4th, 2021
First Choice Power Logo

First Choice Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NO MORE PREPAID

(5 / 5)

  I would like to thank Texas Electricity Ratings.com for helping me with getting a monthly electric bill with no deposit down.. They truly made switching from my prepaid. Electric company effortless, Thanks , Victor V.

SAVE $
August 1st, 2021

Hello Victor. Thank you for this great review! It is awesome to know you have found the best plan for you. If there's anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Have a wonderful day! - Sophie / Digital Care

First Choice Power Responds August 4th, 2021
First Choice Power Logo

First Choice Power


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Dynamic Duo!

(5 / 5)

  I decided to switch from GA Natural Gas so I called and spoke with a nice gentleman by the name of Elias. Elias was so patient and kind and explained all of the different programs I was eligible for and how they worked. He even told me he would call me back to ensure I locked in my new rate. I called back and got Alan. Alan told me I didn't need a deposit now because the requirements had changed since speaking with Elias. He was also patient, knowledgeable (just like Elias), and kind. I am feeling very happy that I made the switch. I feel like I am in good hands.

Waller Family
January 12th, 2021

Infinite Energy Logo

Infinite Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mrs Drama Queen

(5 / 5)

  Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank
I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
Well all at Reliant
( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
Stay safe , and Healthy
And Please..........
" Be Safe "
" Be Happy "
" Have Fun "
" Peace Out "
Sign: A Very Happy Customer
Lisa C.

Lisa Coppage
May 26th, 2020

We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.

Reliant Responds May 27th, 2020
Reliant Logo

Reliant


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

4change energy

(5 / 5)

  Great electric company! I joined a year ago, and I usually change electric companies every year or so to get a better price, but they still have the best prices! Great customer service, no interruptions, low deposit when I joined, I think that they're the best!

Shepherd Lauraine
April 21st, 2020

We're happy we can continue to serve you and offer a low rate, Shepherd! Thanks so much for choosing 4Change Enregy to power your home.

4Change Energy Responds April 24th, 2020
4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Go 4change energy

(5 / 5)

  I have been with 4change energy for a couple of months. Jade been with a electricity company for years,when I got ready to transfer my electricity that company keep giving me the run around and wanted me to pay another deposit, which I didn't have,quite a bit of money.So I find 4Change Energy and in one day I hade every thing set up. That's the way to go 4Change energy!!!

Katherine
January 21st, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review, Katherine! We appreciate you choosing 4Change Energy and hope we can continue to serve you with low prices and easy account access. Have a great week!

4Change Energy Responds January 22nd, 2020
4Change Energy Logo

4Change Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(5 / 5)

  They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend

Allison ayala
July 24th, 2019

Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Gexa Energy Logo

Gexa Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best electric company I have had in 4 years.

(5 / 5)

  The setup was fast and seamless. They have really reasonable rates for prepaid plans. There is no contract or deposit. Love the free nights being that that is when. I am home the most. Would recommend to anyone that wants to save money

Gottalovejazzo
September 3rd, 2018

Hello Energy Logo

Hello Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best kept secret...

(5 / 5)

  They've gone above and beyond with customer care. I appreciated not feeling judged or shamed after my family had no other choice than to file a chapter 13. They didn't require a deposit and wasn't forced into contact. That was 5 years ago and I'm a proud and loyal customer for as long as they're in business!

Stacie
August 20th, 2018

Just Energy Logo

Just Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Suppliers:



Texas Electricity Ratings Resources: