Payless Power Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Payless Power so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Payless Power Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Payless Power's Customer Reviews Summary

Payless Power Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Payless Power

4.3 / 5

Payless Power Reviews

197 Reviews for Payless Power

197

total reviews

Want to order Payless Power?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Payless Power?

Is Payless Power good?

Payless Power is generally rated with an average user review of 2.9/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 21.40¢/kWh!

Is Payless Power expensive?

Payless Power has energy plans starting as low as 21.40¢/kWh with their Premier 12 - No Deposit & No Credit Check. The average Payless Power plan rate is 22.17¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 11.38¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:

Payless Power vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Payless Power:

TXU Payless Power
Plan Count 6 2
Average Rate 22.52¢/kWh 21.85¢/kWh
Average MRC $3.32 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Pre-paid
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 19.50¢/kWh.
Premier 12 - No Deposit & No Credit Check
from 21.40¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 20.50¢/kWh.
-
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Payless Power vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Payless Power:

Reliant Payless Power
Plan Count 2 2
Average Rate 26.50¢/kWh 21.85¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Pre-paid
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 26.10¢/kWh.
Premier 12 - No Deposit & No Credit Check
from 21.40¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan - -
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Payless Power take reviews seriously?

Payless Power has an average user review of 2.9 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 35% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Payless Power?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Payless Power customer review communities around. With 197 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Payless Power customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Payless Power Customer Reviews Page.

Recent Good Review from Miriam

Overall Rating
Best service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It was easy and helpful and great service

Miriam from Glen Rose, TX on May 3rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Fast and easy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I found myself in a situation where I had very little time to pay and the process was very fast and easy and they made it possible for me to make the payment on time

Michael S from Waller, TX on April 19th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We have always had a great experience with this company. We have had service for 4 years now, and do not plan on switching any time soon.

Aaron & Joann O'Neal from Portland, TX on February 8th, 2022
Overall Rating
Wish I was with Paylesspower ... switching soon
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called for what I should do in my situation. Rudy, helped me and he gave me some great advice to keep me from coming across another dilemma! The fact that someone actually saved me time and saved me a headache, instead of just processing payment and leaving me in the dark( no pun intended) he told me the best way to go about my situation and Im just Thankful! I will be switching to Payless once my situation is over! Thank you Rudy!!!!

Crystal Vell from Lewisville, TX on August 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I love this company and recommend them. The electric bill is so much lower. The convenience of auto pay and their customer service is excellent. When I have a question, I call them, and they answer right away.

Good Service from Electra, TX on April 17th, 2021
Overall Rating
Excellent customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The friendliest customer reps that truly wanting to help you. They go above and beyond

Julie from Lufkin, TX on December 19th, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind words! Glad we can help!
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
New Order
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

All good.

James from Katy, TX on October 19th, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Account
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No comment

Aaron Powell from Baytown, TX on October 1st, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Great company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They are always fast, friendly and very professional.

B.J. B from Fort Worth, TX on August 31st, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Love the daily notifications
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've enjoyed the ease with the service and plan. I am moving and will for a time have two locations so forced to look at alternatives due to policy restrictions that I can't be two places at once. I can't be caught not having AC in Texas during Summer while setting up the new and moving out of the old. Who came up with that policy. Also noticed the rates have changed ... Guess I will be risking another change but I did love how I always knew my balance and if something was wrong due to the charges (roommate) ... Great way to keep track and know when to pull back and shut things off! Not to mention FACEBOOK and the things I learned along the way!

Faith Leapove from Belton, TX on August 12th, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Good service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No problem with service but I've never understood the billing or what the actual coat per kwr is. On the average 4 kwh's costs me just over $3.00. This seems very high

Susan from Houston, TX on November 13th, 2021
Overall Rating
Very good service Easy to use!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The service has been incredibly easy to use. A two year old could do it.

KSA from Dickinson, TX on September 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
So far, so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Thank you.

Elaine Bennett from Angleton, TX on August 3rd, 2021
Overall Rating
Great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy

Idk from Houston, TX on June 30th, 2021
Overall Rating
Good times
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good experience very friendly.

David from on June 12th, 2021
Overall Rating
Happy Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

O complaints

Curtis from Dallas, TX on March 17th, 2021
Overall Rating
Na
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Na

Na from Irving, TX on November 15th, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Yess
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

N a

Kayla from Abilene, TX on August 15th, 2020
Thank you for rating Payless Power!
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nice I like how I can see how much I use because I started unplugging stuff I didnt need and my amount went as according

Angel from Odessa, TX on August 7th, 2020
We are so pleased that you enjoy the daily messages via text, email or both-text & email. We truly feel this is the most powerful tool in maintaining control of the energy usage in ones home. Thank you for your business.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Easy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very easy to turn on and get started. I like that the electricity you are using is right in front of you on the web site. And paying your bill can not be any easier.

K Athearn from Dickinson, TX on June 5th, 2020
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Awesome
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No hassle .

Bellard from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2021
Overall Rating
No further comment
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No comment

N/A from Humble, TX on April 1st, 2021
Overall Rating
My opinion
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy to use...great & cheap rates

Cassandra from Balch Springs, TX on August 14th, 2019
Thank you for your feedback its greatly appreciated! Payless Power is a company that has competitive prices. We pride ourselves to know that our product has no hidden fees, no gimmicks. We also offer a 20% discount when the balance is maintained above $35 on your standard rate. To learn more please contact us at 888-963-9363.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good

Cstacie17 from Grand Prairie, TX on September 30th, 2018
Thanks for rating Payless Power(:
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
First time customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First time using the company. Spoke to customer service rep and helped me understand the process. Very helpful.

Stacie from Grand Prairie, TX on September 11th, 2018
Stacie-Thank you for your feedback happy our customer care representatives were able to help you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 if you have anymore questions or concerns about your account.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Service is ok
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I needed a credit reference for an important application. Payless Power customer service would only give me reference from the time you have had this online site. I was a customer for a year prior but he wouldn't give that info for my application. Longevity was my whole point of requesting credit reference. It hurt me in long run to not get that information.

Ok from Savoy, TX on August 28th, 2018
We do apologize for the inconvenience. We did launch a new system therefore we could only pull up account history from the time the system transition till current day. We will be happy to assist you on a proof of service if that will help because unfortunately we don't offer letter of credits.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge for lower usage accounts like mine was so my power bill was way more than what I had previously been paying.

Didn't See High Daily Charge from Mckinney, TX on July 19th, 2018
Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The experience is good but I think it is too pricey

Experience from Mcallen, TX on July 11th, 2018
Thank you for rating Payless Power. We do offer ways on receiving discounts please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for more information.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Expensive
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ok I've always loved payless power until now all of a sudden yall just started charging me alot.

Misty from Forney, TX on December 29th, 2017
Thank you Misty for your review it's greatly appreciated. With the weather we experienced your usage will come in out of the normal, but you can always verify the usage that is being reported using www.smartmetertexas.com.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
No Terms of Services, rates can change
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When a rate has changed you will only be notified via a txt message only. Pay as you go is currently 12.2 per kWh, if u keep a balance above 35$ it's 8.7, so there advertised 10.9 does not exist anymore(summertime excuse raise in rates). Also if you do not use above 17 kWh they can charge you a extra .50 per day. On there web page you cannot review your monthly kWh usage for comparison's, you can only pay your bill. One good thing I found out late was you can pay from your bank account without being charged 3$ that ace rips you off with, probably could have saved $100 bucks if I'd known that sooner a year ago.

Mr Anderson from Houston on June 21st, 2016
Mr Anderson- Thank you for your feedback it's very important to us. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate. Our web page was very limited on what you could see in regards to your account information but we are able to send you a monthly statement VIA email or mailed or per your request can send every month. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for anymore questions or concerns.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
No bargain
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They neglected to mention they have a $2.99 cent per day minimum, so you're guaranteed a $90/mth bill even if you're just running a fridge and nothing else. I've had monthly bills where my average cost was 48 cents per kw. Not a good value when they advertise 16 cents/kw if you their minimum kw

John Hiebert from Harlingen, TX on March 3rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Double of what other power companies charge- avoid this one at all costs!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am a very cheap person when it comes to electricity- and it's all Payless Power's fault.



Unplugging appliances as soon as they're not in use- turning lights off as soon as I leave the room, leaving them off when I'm in my bedroom, covering up windows and doors- you name it I've done it all in order to keep my electric bill low. And by "low" with Payless Power, I mean shelling out $40 every other week or even weekly.

It gave me anxiety, checking my balance and knowing I'm getting low. I switched, and I expected the new power company to be worse since I left lights on, had the a/c on for a handful of days...but it was only $50 for the whole month! I am in absolute shock, Payless Power is an absolute scam. Under no circumstances should you EVER switch to Payless Power.

You've been warned.

Jack E. from Midland, TX on April 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
While it may be good for some, this company sucks!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had this company for about 5 months now. They charge more than what a normal plan would. I had Tara Energy before this and I was paying $100 or less a month.


With Payless Power I'm paying damn near over $150 a month. And they have a switch hold on my meter?! This company is crooked. I hate it.

Reanna Simerly from Houston, TX on July 7th, 2020
Ms Simerly- I understand that you are concerned with your recent monthly costs and that this is not a good thing. A quick review of your historical usage shows that the address where you live consumes a lower than average amount of power in the spring and fall but a much higher amount in the summer. You are experiencing this now. Please note that Payless Power has not raised your rates however your consumption from April through July has drastically spiked from 2019 to 2020. Please call us at 888 963 9363 and we will be happy to go over this with you.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Worse power company ever
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I thought they had reasonable rates when I started service with them.After the first months the rates started going up till I was paying 20 dollars a day for two people.They will cut you off quickly to get an additional 25 dollars.I think we were better off before deregulation.This company is bait and switch.If you need electricity dont get with this company.

Mitch from Bedford, TX on June 29th, 2019
We are terribly sorry you have had a poor experience with our company and want to know more, so that we may improve. We also understand the frustration that the cost of electricity rises in the summer or sometimes the winter here in Texas because energy consumption increases substantially with the temperature changes outside. The key driver of higher energy cost is because the air conditioning and heating systems work much harder when it is hot or cold outside. Just like a refrigerator, the HVAC system in a home turns on based on the desired temperature set on the thermostat and these systems do so whether someone is home or not. Our blog contains many articles on energy savings tips, which can be viewed at https://paylesspower.com/blog/. We also offer a discount program to save 20% off of our standard rate by simply by maintaining a balance over $35. A supervisor would truly love to speak to you to see if we can do something to meet your expectations. If you would contact us at https://paylesspower.com/contact-us/, then then we can have someone review your account immediately to see if there is anything further we can do to help. Thank you for your business and your candid review.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
A company of thieves
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tried their service on a temporary sublet. Immediately noticed the smart methods of stealing your available credit. Rates per kilowatt are as high as $2.85 cents. That's per 1 kilowatt. Just another immoral American thief.

Payless Power Is A THIEF ! from Houston, TX on November 30th, 2018
Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Centerpoint. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes.We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Centerpoint owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Ok if temporary
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Needed service temporarily so figured prepaid was the way to go. I paid $40 a week although I was rarely home. Great idea but too expensive.

KMC from Richmond, TX on September 30th, 2018
Thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated. Payless Power does offer discounts off your usage, please contact us at 888-963-9363 to learn more.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Paying too much
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paying too much for electric

from Temple, TX on July 11th, 2018
We will be more than happy to go over ways on saving. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Terms & Rates not as quoted. Website portal only for payments NO INFO
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

At first, thought Payless would be great. Was receiving daily texts of $$ charged and KWH charged.


New website rollout, since daily texts no longer include $$ spent, just total kwh and your balance remaining.
Trying to camouflage what you are actually being charged that day, without customer's calculation.
Continually told, great new stuff on website.... available soon.
Told today "it was decided" by Payless Power to not provide customers with daily $$ charged, as this will soon be available on website. The only thing available on new site other than ways to pay/fund your account, is monthly billing statement. You cannot lookup any billing/usage history in real time, need to review your texts or wait til monthly statement in mail, or online. Hell, you cannot even look up what your rate or average is. Being charged daily and getting hit with 558kw charge, with no idea what your rate is means you cannot calculate what came out of our account without seeking out prior day's "balance remaining" and deducting manually. Great way to hide rates & $$$ under guise of customer improvement. It has been decided by me to shop elsewhere
for power. Quoted rate 8.6 continually charged 11.6 /kwh Hard to detect until your monthly bill, or if you gather your texts & calculator

Magickly from Corpus Christi, TX on January 19th, 2018
We do apologize for your experience with our service. Yes we did launch a new & improved online portal that would give you the opportunity to view your account in a more detailed format. But when that did occur still had some bugs that needed fixing so again we do apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you. The Portal is up & running excellent now.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Just Got This And Already Over it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I just signed up for this bc I needed service ASAP. I was just charged over $7 on my first day. That is crazy I live in a 600 Sq Ft apartment alone. I'm adamant on not using lights when the sun is out and keep my AC at 68 degrees. They also advertised $100 credit to new customers, which I did not receive. I wish I had done more research before signing up. I will be switching asap.

Teresa Cortez from Dallas, TX on January 14th, 2018
Teresa- Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. After reviewing your account all usage that has been reported are showing to be actual, also you could verify these reads using www.smartmetertexas.com. The $100 credit is a specific plan that offers a $10 credit every month for 10 months, unfortunately you selected a different plan that did not offer that promotion. Please feel free to reach us at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Was Great! Until they were acquired by another company...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We decided to go with prepaid power because we (me & my roomate) don't have enough money to pay the big bills we used to get with TXU energy. All year long 2017- the rates were great. Electricity was cheap, until recently after Hurricane Harvey.... they updated their payment system & now their service is ridiculous. They "OFFER A DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN" - they want you to owe them money, doesnt make sense. It does make sense though for the company to put you in their pocket like that, they are raising rates and diminsh your account balance so fast that you go negative and then they allow you to run up negative $100+ and start texting you to get on their "DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN".



What they've done may not be unethical but it is most definitely irritating, a business does have the right to change its service prices however it is no longer beneficial to use them as a electricity provider. Without getting angry and really speaking my mind, I am writing this review to let everyone know they are not worth trying and will eat your money so fast that it doesnt even make sense. I have three bedroom house and every week, were having to put money on the account.

I conserve energy and still lose it all. This review was written by me, allen. I ask all of you to feel free to shoot me a email at hello@designsbyallen.com before signing up with them so I can tell you how bad they are. I dont want to make a fool of myself by getting angry so I'll just let you all know not go with payless power aka paypwr.com

BIGGEST RIP OFF, SCAM, & HORRIBLE SERVICE

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM, YOU WILL REGRET IT

Allen from Katy, TX on January 3rd, 2018
Allen- We do apologize for your experience while using our service. During the Hurricane Harvey event we were working with the customer on suspending disconnects for the whole month while we understood customers needed to get situated after this natural disaster occurred. We were also providing a list of organizations to help assist customer who were negative after usage continue to accumulate increasing negative balances making it harder for some customer to get caught up. Our Deferred Payment Plan is a courtesy that we offer to help assist if the full payment cannot be met, we do apologize again for your experience you had while using our service.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Inflation
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I really don't understand how Payless power can have the nerve to have a $75 minimum on your light bill or either join their Autopay which is really crappy to your customers and you call it inflation how is that inflation you're not getting charged for anything it's not coming out of your pocket how is it inflation how are y'all getting charged

Inflation Really !!! from Terrell, TX on May 27th, 2022
Overall Rating
DO NOT USE THIS CONPANY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Payless power stole from my account. Service was disconnected on Jan 11 2022. I called to verify that my account would be disconnected, auto pay stopped, and my balance refunded. This was confirmed by the customer service representative. Not only was my account drafted after I was told it would not be, Im charged an early termination fee that isnt mentioned anywhere in the faq section, account info, or website. This information should be easy to find. They are intentionally withholding billing information. This is theft. Every social media platform will have this written, detailed review of Payless power. As the automated service says, calls may be recorded for training purposes, I record phone conversations to ensure scam businesses like this one are held accountable. I am still going to have to call to reiterate what I have just said and to also have my bank information promptly and completely removed since my account is still active after it was requested by me to be closed.

Marie from Galveston, TX on January 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Terrible Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with this company for a few years and loved them until about a month ago. I don't know what happened but service is awful now. They don't do what the say, block me from changing companies, and customer service is so rude.

? from Abilene, TX on August 27th, 2021
Overall Rating
Ypu lost a long time customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

You lost a long time customer because your unwilling to work with me wile I'm put of work due to covid. It's OK TXU welcomed me back.

Jennifer from Corpus Christi, TX on August 19th, 2021
Overall Rating
Use to be great now its nothing but problems
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I use to love this company years ago. Unfortunately I feel the price has dramatically increased and customer is not well trained. I have had nothing but problems this last year.

Jennifer from Corpus Christi, TX on July 31st, 2021
Overall Rating
Sudden turn for the worse
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Having a pre-paid plan, we used to enjoy a discount by maintaining a minimum balance. However, starting January 2021, the discount disappeared, and the value proposition for a pre-paid plan vanished. Additionally, a minimum daily charge of $2.67 is added (I am aware of no other major electric company that implements this immoral practice). This minimum daily charge means that you will be paying a minimum of $80 per month even if you unplug everything and go away on vacation!



You'll probably see a tone-deaf response saying something to the effect of that the changes are consistent with the TOS, which is available on their website.

Indeed, Payless Power suddenly forgot how to treat their customers right.

David from Houston, TX on February 10th, 2021
Overall Rating
.41 cents
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My account was over. 41 cent and they turned off my power

EEM from Humble, TX on December 15th, 2020
Hello- With our services being prepaid anytime balance is negative the account is risking disconnection. We do send daily alerts notifying low balance and also advise how to request an extension if needed. Please contact us for any questions or concerns.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Horrible
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It was just horrible

Unhappy from Houston, TX on July 13th, 2020
Ms Anderson- Based on contacts that you have made to our Customer Care department over the last couple of weeks it seems like you are struggling with the increased costs of electricity during our current Texas heatwave. I understand that these increased costs put a huge financial strain on folks and this is not a good thing. Please understand that Payless Power has not increased your rates. We do see that your usage has increased substantially however this is quite common wth recent temperatures. Payless Power offers more assistance options than any other pre-paid provider in the State, to my knowldege ... including waiving all disconnection or reconnection fees. Payless Power also participates fully in the State's Covid-19 Electricity Relief Program. This is an assistance program set up for Texas Residents who have lost work due to the Pandemic. There are alot other types of assistance programs in your area. Please call us at 888 963 9363 for details.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
Emotional Distress
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The manager and employees are liars and is witholden my hand written check that the bank stateed it doesn't accept. Its been over 12 days of them holding my check and I still await for a refund for being dissatisfied with ignorant communicated agents and had to switch power service because I was unhappy with thier miserable communication as a paying customer. I was told that my registered email check was not acceptable but I could mail it in but then when I did send it certified mail, it was denied after recieving an email I could mail it. I was given an off the record cell phone number of a manger to speak with about the matter because the call wasn't being recorded. I totally feel discriminated against and this company has caused me emotional distress which I send out invoices for!!! With prejudice

DBA SHAWANA LATRICE POWELL (c) RRM from on April 15th, 2020
We apologize for the experience. We have tried locating your account with the email provided unfortunately not able to locate it. We have sent an email if you could please reply with your account information so we can research on exactly whats going on with the account or what's causing the delay. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience and would like to speak to you about the issue if we have not resolved it to your satisfaction.
— Payless Power
Overall Rating
RIP OFF COMPANY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They really do NOT deserve 1 star. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Be expected to pay at least $30 for 6 days of 4-5 kilowatt usage or so they supposed that amount based on estimates...I'll say it again...ESTIMATES and actual. They claim Centerpoint sends them the actual metered amount (whenever) and that they might sometimes "undercharge" customers based on their "estimated" daily calculations. Hear me out new customers, as you maintain this company you'll see that over time they'll start ripping you off. I'm hardly ever home and when I am I only use a desk lamp to study for a few hours. Even unplug most appliances (except for fridge) to conserve energy. BUT they increase the price amount and inflate (lie) the usage. I'm switching in a few days.

Rip Off Company!!! from Houston, TX on March 26th, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience. Good or bad, this is an important part of customer reviews. Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Centerpoint. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes. Thats it. We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Centerpoint owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at http://www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.

— Payless Power

Compare Payless Power to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Maxx Saver Select 24
13.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Maxx Saver Select 12
15.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
One Rate 12
20.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Simple 6 - No Deposit & No Credit Check
22.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Pre-paid Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Premier 12 - No Deposit & No Credit Check
21.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Pre-paid Non-Renewable
Check Availability
15 Month Usage Bill Credit + PowerPlug
19.0¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
36 Month A/C Protect Premier for 2 Units
16.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12 Month Flat Tier Product
17.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12 Month Usage Bill Credit
20.2¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12Mo Usage Bill Credit + A/C Protection for 1 Unit and HVAC Monitoring
20.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12Mo Usage Bill Credit + A/C Protection for 2 Units and HVAC Monitoring
20.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12 Month (No Min Usage Fee)
21.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
12 Month GREEN (No Min Usage Fee)
22.2¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability